Black Female Representation in Music

Date: 08/03/22

Heure: 17:30

Lieu: Brussels

Déscriptions : AB Talks Black Female Representation in Music

Organisation/Artist(e): Ancienne Belgique

Event Link: click here

En l’honneur du Black History Month en Belgique et de la Journée internationale des femmes, nous nous associons à Black History Month Belgium (BHM) pour débattre de l’importance de la black female representation dans le monde musical. Le 8 mars, l’AB Club accueillera dans ce cadre une table ronde internationale.

Notre histoire musicale collective et notre avenir seraient bien tristes sans l’impressionnant travail et les répertoires audacieux des femmes noires. Pourtant, on déplore aujourd’hui encore un manque criant de diversité à tous les niveaux et dans tous les secteurs de l’industrie musicale.

Les femmes noires ne sont pas seulement sous-représentées ; elles sont aussi moins payées que leurs homologues blanches de peau. Sans compter qu’elles sont aussi souvent victimes de racisme au niveau professionnel. À l’occasion du Black History Month en Belgique et de la Journée internationale des femmes, nous examinerons avec différentes expertes (du vécu) les mécanismes discriminatoires à l’œuvre dans l’industrie musicale.

Nous nous pencherons aussi sur les difficultés que rencontrent les artistes noires en début de carrière et tout au long de celle-ci, et sur l’influence de ces obstacles sur leur santé mentale. Lors de cette table ronde, il sera aussi question de l’importance d’une plus grande participation des femmes noires dans le monde de la musique – sur scène et en coulisses. Ce sera également l’occasion d’explorer des pistes pour y arriver.

Ce talk est organisé conjointement par l’AB et Black History Month Belgium. Le 8 mars, Journée internationale des femmes, nous réunirons à l’AB Club une table ronde internationale à laquelle participeront des artistes, des expertes du vécu dans le domaine de la diversité et des actrices du changement. Le nom des panélistes sera communiqué prochainement. La participation est gratuite mais sachez qu’il faut s’inscrire préalablement. Le nombre de places est limité, mais vous pourrez heureusement suivre ce nouveau talk en streaming live.

Black Female Representation in Music

Date: 08/03/22

Time: 17:30

Location: Brussels

Description : AB Talks Black Female Representation in Music

Organization/Artist: Ancienne Belgique

Event Link: click here

Location: Ancienne Belgique

Time: 18:30-20:00

Language: EN

In honour of Black History Month in Belgium and International Women’s Day, we join forces with Black History Month Belgium (BHM) to discuss the importance of black female representation in the music world. An international panel will assemble in the AB Club on 8 March.

Our collective musical history - and future - would look extremely bleak without the incredible work and pioneering repertoires of black women. However, even today there remains a lack of diversity at all levels and in all sections of the music industry.

Not only are black women underrepresented, they are also paid less than their white (female) colleagues and often faced with racism in the workplace. In honour of Black History Month in Belgium and International Women’s Day, we will be talking to various experts and women with such experiences about discriminatory mechanisms in the music business.

We will be looking at the difficulties black female artists have to deal with in building their careers and how this affects their mental health. We will also be talking about the importance of increasing the representation of black women in the music industry, both behind the scenes and on stage, and look at potential solutions.

This Talk is organised by AB and Black History Month Belgium. On 8 March, International Women’s Day, we are bringing together an international panel of artists, diversity workers and change makers in the AB Club. The speakers will be announced soon. Attendance is free but you must register. There will be a limited number of tickets, but you will also be able to follow the Talk via livestream.